X


 


 



 

x

 

Material Motifs
MDX Art Direction Print Class (4 x sessions. Tuesdays 4.30 - 6.30pm)

Session 1 –  Project briefing and talking through different methods of handling print and binding etc and how the chosen methods fit with content and tone/theme of publications.

In this project you will create a design motif that you will use to test a range of print processes and design techniques over the next four weeks giving you confindence and experience to send things to print and produce material research material.
You will each be given a work book that you can use as a canvas to build up a sample book of different print and finishing processes. You can draw, print, collage, and write in this book, cut it up, reformat it, and rebind it as you wish. You can use it to experiment with and have fun with and make mistakes in. On week three you will each select a page from your book to scan and contribute to a collective sample book that we will send to be printed digitally.

To begin think of a motif you could use from a project you are working on. It could be a symbol, a pattern, an object, a logo, a text, a shape, an icon, part of an image. Here's an example:

x

x

 

Motif (narrative), any recurring element in a story that has symbolic significance or the reason behind actions.
Motif
(textile arts), a recurring element or fragment that, when joined together, creates a larger work.
Motif (visual arts), a repeated theme or pattern.

x

 

Printing processes

Lithoprinting

Examples of Litho Printers
Aldgate Press http://www.aldgatepress.co.uk/
Short Run Press http://www.shortrunpress.co.uk/
Calverts http://www.calverts.coop/
Europe
Die Keure http://www.diekeure.be/
Cassochrome http://www.csc.be/

- Offsetprinting
Web offset

Digital Printing
Ink Jet Printing, Laser Printing, Digital Litho

Examples of digital printers
Solo Press https://www.solopress.com
Pixart Printing https://www.pixartprinting.co.uk
Moore Print http://www.mooreprint.co.uk/
MTA Digital http://www.mtadigital.co.uk/
Short Run Press http://www.shortrunpress.co.uk/

- Print on Demand

x

Examples of Print on Demand platforms (POD)

Newspaper Club http://www.newspaperclub.com/
And Publishing http://www.andpublishing.org/self-publishing/and-self-publishing/
Blurb http://www.blurb.com/
Lulu http://www.lulu.com/
Scribd http://www.scribd.com/
I Am Self Publishing https://www.iamselfpublishing.com/print-on-demand/

Risograph

x

Hato Press http://hatopress.net/1/
Victory Press http://victorypress.co.uk/_1./Home.html
Studio Operative www.studio-operative.co.uk
Two Press Studio http://www.two-press.co.uk/

Screen Printing
Print Club https://printclublondon.com
K2 Screen http://www.k2screen.co.uk

Photocopying
Examples of commercial photocopiers
Service Point http://www.servicepointuk.com/
Kinkos http://www.fedexkinkos.co.uk/
KopyKat http://www.kopykat.co.uk

Craft Printing
Stencilling
Embossing
Stamping
Foil blocking
Lino printing
Etching
Letterpress
Photographic


Paper Suppliers
Paperback http://www.paperbackpaper.co.uk
Fenner Paper http://www.fennerpaper.co.uk/
Artic Paper http://www.arcticpaper.com/munken

Book Binders
J M Muir http://www.jmuirbookbindersltd.co.uk
Wyvern Bindery http://www.wyvernbindery.com/
Collis Bird & Withey http://www.thesisbookbinding.co.uk/
City Binders http://www.citybinders.co.uk/
Pixart Printing https://www.pixartprinting.co.uk/printing-magazines-books-catalogues/

x

How do you send something to print?

Save documents as a PDF

The Portable Document Format (PDF) is a file format used to present documents in a manner independent of application software, hardware, and operating systems. This means that a printer can read your document even if it doesn't have the program that you created it in. Each PDF file encapsulates (bundles) a complete description of a fixed-layout flat document, including the text, fonts, graphics, and other information needed to display it. Although not all printers need to recieve work in PDF format it is good practice to save your work in this format. When you chose SAVE AS PDF you will be sent to an option box with a range of options to choose from. If you are sending to print you should select a 'Print Format' with at least 300dpi to ensure there is enough information in the file for a high quality print out.

 

x

Communicating with Printers

You often need to fill out a Print Specification to and ask for a Quote
The Magazine Printer http://www.magprint.co.uk/D6727A51.en.aspx

  • type of printing
  • type of paper
  • format
  • size
  • number of pages
  • number of copies
  • type of binding
  • turnaround time
  • cost

You would usually save your file as a PDF and upload to the printers server / drop box / or send using a transfer program such as We Transfer.